Christmas Blankets!

I’m only a month late posting about the kids Christmas blankets.  I blame … Christmas, and New Year’s and January blahs.  You know, the usual.  I made Aiman’s blanket in an attempt to learn how to crochet.  I really love how it came out, but some of the joins are already starting to come apart.  I’ve had to do some not so pretty fixes, but its all part of the learning process!  Aiman loves it and that’s what matters most.

Aiman's Blanket

Revelry notes are here.

After I finished I got to work on Sofia’s blanket.  All the joins seem strong, but there is a bit of wonkiness due to some of my squares not being the exact same size.  But who notices wonkiness when wrapped up in a blanket anyway!  I love the cheerful brightness of this blanket.  It suits Sofia perfectly.

Sofia's Blanket

Ravelry notes here.

Finally, Mika’s blanket which was just simple granny stripes, but is still probably my favorite.  It’s not particularly exciting to crochet, but the effect is adorable, warm and squishy.  Mika loves it.

Mika's Blanket

Ravelry notes here.

Since Christmas I’ve been working on my New Year’s resolution to myself to actually make something that is for me.  I know, I know .. I’m selfish knitter.  I’m making Jared Flood’s Girasole, which is actually quite an easy knit and is so beautiful.  I’m using wool Riaz got me for my birthday from the lovely people at Woolfolk.  I’m using Tynd 01 and it’s crazy beautiful and so soft.  I highly recommend.

Girasole(Taking decent pictures of in-process circular shawls with LOTS of lifelines is not an easy task!)

I’ve had to rip back my work a few times due to a wandering mind, but it really couldn’t be an easier knit.  I am excited for the finished product!

Finally, I’ve joined my first ever crochet along.  This Vibrant Vintage CAL (which is kind of a mouthful) is fun.  I decided to do it primarily because I really love the insane border on this blanket.  We’re only on week two which means I’ve made 4 squares.  Not quite blog-picture worthy yet!

So, I guess that’s it!  This was a monster update on the crafting front.  To appease the fans of my crazy kids, here you go:

The Kids

Joining up with the Yarn Along.

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Blankets!

  1. Alina says:

    Oh wow! You’ve been productive!!! So much beauty, love how colorful and cheerful they are!

  2. Mom says:

    Beautiful work, Kristina! Good job!

  3. Becki says:

    Your blankets are great! And I’m intrigued by the “fringe” on the granny stripe blanket (Mika’s). It appears to be crocheted. Am curious how that is done.

Leave a Reply

