A Finished Knit!

I took a year and a half to knit, then another 6 months to buy appropriate blocking pins and then another 2 months to actually block this wrap.  But IT’S DONE!  IT. IS. DONE!  I love it though I do wish it was just slightly longer.  I think it will stretch out some as it gets worn so I’m not going to lose any sleep over it and in any event I couldn’t possibly knit another repeat, it would almost definitely kill me.

Blocking

I used the gold colored Silver Label Mulberry silk yarn from Tanis Fiber Arts which is expensive and absolutely divine, and this pattern which can be a bit boring at times but delivers a lovely effect.

Wrap

This little baby is headed to my mother-in-law. She saw it in process when we visited Australia Christmas before last (eep!) and I am so excited to actually get to send her the finished product.  This is by far the largest project I have ever completed and I’m not lying when I say I may shed a happy tear when it finds its new home!

Ravelry notes here if you are interested (they basically just say use a lifeline.  USE A LIFELINE!)

Besides blocking and ogling my finished wrap, I’ve been plugging away at Aiman’s granny square blanket.  The vast difference between the lacy wrap and the bulky granny squares is not lost on me, but variety is the spice of life!  I’m still obsessed with making a circle blanket for Sofia and have been eyeing cheap yarn that won’t make my index finger feel like the Sahara Desert, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I’ve started a bit of an assembly line with Aiman’s blanket — doing just one color at a time and it has made the whole process go so much faster.  I’ve got 17 squares to go, and then I need to sew them all together, crochet an edge and weave in the ends.  I think I’m looking at maybe another 3 weeks or so to get this done.  I can’t wait to see the little guy’s face when I give it to him!

That’s it on the crafting front.  Linking up with the Yarn Along.

 

 

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Finished Knit!

  1. Ann says:

    The wrap is lovely: the pattern and the yarn. Well done and congratulations!

  2. Becki says:

    The shawl is beautiful. Your relief at finishing it is palpable through the internet. lol

  3. Mom says:

    This is beautiful, Kristina, I don’t know how you find the time. Xxo.

  4. Zena says:

    Absolutely stunning both colour and pattern. Lucky mother-in-law!

Leave a Reply

