Life + Knitting

Oh poor little blog.  I am the worst.  Insert usual life-type excuses here:  three kids, full time job, cooking, soccer, dance class, playing with the kids, sleeping (occasionally).  I’m going to try to be better.

To get back into the swing of things, I’m going to do a little knit/crochet update.  Easy peasy.

I’ve been knitting the Hanami Stole.  According to the designer its meant to represent cherry blossom trees.  I showed the pattern to a friend and he declared it to be mountains under a starry sky and appreciated the whole Alaska connection thing.  I have to say that I agree and also like the connection so I decided to embark on another lacy shawl – the last one only took me two years so what the heck.  I never met a chart that didn’t make me want to rip out all my hair so I wrote out each row on little note cards and am following the pattern that way.  Much easier for my simple brain.

I love the way this shawl is coming out.  I was knitting without a lifeline like a fool and made a small mistake, but have decided its character building and am just going to leave it.  Mountains and starry skies aren’t perfect either.

IMG_5013

I have been wanting to learn how to crochet for awhile (said the 70 year old woman – I don’t even know who I am anymore!)  I occasionally see patterns with crocheted edges and it seemed like something I ought to know how to do.  I watched some YouTube videos and decided I would make a granny square blanket for Aiman as practice.  I was originally going to make a twin-sized blanket for his bed, but decided he would probably actually prefer an afghan size that he can carry into the living room (that kid is always cold).  It has absolutely nothing to do with the 70 squares the twin blanket was going to take.  Nothing at all.

IMG_5014

So that’s it on the crafting front.  Here are a few pictures of the kiddos to appease the grandparents, aunts and uncles in the room!

IMG_5015

IMG_5016

IMG_5017Joining up with the Yarn Along.

 

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life + Knitting

  1. Elaine and Marvin Gillam says:

    Glad to hear you are having some time to knit and learn to crochet! The granny square look really neat. I made an afghan for Uncle Marvin, but it took a few years to put it together! Ha Ha Thanks for the pics of the children. Love you guys. Aunt Elaine & Uncle Marvin

  2. Mom says:

    That’s a really pretty pattern. I like the Alaska connection, too. :). Kids are adorable, as usual.

Leave a Reply

