Nesting

My nesting instincts kicked into high gear this week and I have been doing as much around the house as I can – which frankly isn’t much because Riaz has had yoga teacher training for the last few weekends and there is only so much I can do between 8, when the kids go to sleep, and 11 when I collapse into bed.

But, I did get my closet cleaned out (obviously an imperative before the baby arrives – please note my sarcasm) and I found an amazing Pottery Barn dining table and chairs on Craigslist for $75!  We really needed a new table.  The Craigslist find is a little rough around the edges, but our kids hone in on anything new and do their best to destroy it, so it is perfect for us.

On the knitting front, I’ve been plugging away on the secret gift, it’s really coming along and I’m super happy with the way it is turning out.

Excuse the extreme close-up!  I'm trying to keep it vague.

Excuse the extreme close-up! I’m trying to keep it vague.

I also pretty much finished the first of two dolls I’m going to make the kids.  Obviously this doll needs a face because it is kind of creepy without it and a hat because dolls need little hats.   But once I do that I can put this project in the books!

The kids are already fighting over this little guy so I will definitely need to make another.  It took me about three hours to get this far and I probably need another hour for the face/hat, so I think it is doable before Baby No. 3 takes the last tiny little bit of time I have to indulge my craftiness.

Faceless Hatless Dolls!

Faceless Hatless Dolls!

For those interested I used bulky, instead of worsted, weight yarn on this doll.  It ended up being about 12 inches from tip to top.  I actually prefer this size to the small 6.5 inch doll that the pattern would make as written.  My kids like to wrap their little arms around their stuffed toys and bigger toys are much more cuddly!

Linking up with the Yarn Along.

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nesting

  1. Elaine Gillam says:

    Do you have a pattern for the doll? If so, would you be willing to share? It looks cute. Also, Amish dolls don’t have faces! Just saying. Aunt Elaine

  2. Britney says:

    you need to sell on etsy!

  3. Pingback: Resting | From Alaska to Australia

Leave a Reply

