Finished Knits, Secret Knits, New Baby Freak-Outs and a Car Accident

I need to sew on two more buttons and block this bad boy, but other than that, the Puerperium is done!

Finished!

Finished!

This kind of “Vermont in the fall” colorway is so pretty and kind of old-fashiony and I think it will suit either a boy or a girl so I am really happy with the way it came out.  I think I have enough yarn for some little booties or socks so, yeah, that is happening.

In other non-knitting news, I AM 31 WEEKS PREGNANT!  What the what.  Someone please explain to me when that happened and how it is possible that I have just a little over 60 days to go.  This pregnancy has flown by and it is freakin’ me out.

I can’t really say that I’m not prepared.  When you already have two kids what do you really need to do to get ready?  I now know that all you need for a new baby (especially in the summer) is diapers, t-shirts and like a box or something for them to sleep in (kidding … kidding … sort of).  We’ve still got the co-sleeper, I’ve got clothes for either a little boy or a little girl and Riaz can easily go to Costco for diapers, so as far as stuff goes, we’re ready.

Mental preparedness?  Now that’s a whole other story.  Because this pregnancy has gone by so fast I’m not sure it has really sunk in that a new baby is actually going to be here in 2 months, actually waking up every 3 hours, actually dependent upon me for all of its needs, I’m actually exhausted just thinking about it.

I think I may be in denial.

Anyway, since this is apparently a beautiful and magical time and I’m never going to be pregnant again (three is enough y’all) I feel like I should do a little documenting.  I hate pictures of myself generally and detest them when I am pregnant (I think there are maybe 5 pictures of me while pregnant in existence). But, I don’t want the new bobbin to feel like I wasn’t happy to be pregnant with him/her (because obviously I am) so I swallowed my pride and got Riaz to take a few snap.  Behold, pictures of the huge.

It Fits!

It Fits!

Side Profile

Side Profile

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, back to knitting, I’ve cast on a sweater for my little niece in Australia (which I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of).  My sister-in-law sometimes reads the blog so it’s a bit of a secret, but so far I’m enjoying the pattern (which I don’t want to link to so you guys can just … guess?)  But … and this is a big one … I HATE my Clover needles for the lace portion of the pattern.  So … I’ve decided to take the plunge and buy the Addi interchangeable set.  It’s expensive (though less expensive than the Amazon link because I found them on ebay – yeah!), but I hate never having the exact size I need and I just don’t like the bamboo needles – they are not sharp enough.  I can’t wait for them to arrive so I can move this project onto the fancy-pants needles.  I’m becoming a real knitter you guys!

That’s it for knitting this week.  The cold persists, but I’m feeling slightly better.  I’m thrilled for this to be a short week at work because I had to work two late nights in a row and, to add insult to injury, I was rear-ended on my way home on Monday.  Baby No. 3 and I are fine, but it was upsetting and my car is going to need to be in the shop for a bit.  The look of horror on the woman’s face who hit me after she saw me dragging my hulking belly out of the car was priceless, but certainly not worth the major annoyance of having to deal with all the repairs and paperwork.  Ah well … such is life.  I’m looking forward to a very quiet Fourth of July with a lot of resting, knitting and eating!

Enjoy the holiday Americans, I know I will!

Bonus …. Riaz in his finished Birthday Hat!

Happy Birthday!

Happy Birthday!

Linking up with the Yarn Along.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy is ... hard, She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finished Knits, Secret Knits, New Baby Freak-Outs and a Car Accident

  1. Donna says:

    You look radiant! Definitely take more prego pictures. I wish I had done that 18 years ago! The sweater is adorable 🙂

    My hubby would tease everyone that we were going to use an old refrigerator box for my daughter when she was born, so I get your reasoning….

  2. Totally love your photo of the sweater on the prego belly! Too cute and you look great!

  3. S.I.F. says:

    You look gorgeous lady! And I am so sorry to hear about the car accident, but so happy to hear you are OK. That is just scary!

  4. Anne says:

    Um, you are not huge! You look great! Love the sweater colors!

Leave a Reply

