Chronicles of Unfinished Projects

I do have an excuse for each and every one of these unfinished projects.  Really.

First up, Sofia’s dress.

See, we cancelled their big birthday party because 1) I am a horrible mother; 2) they are 4 and 2 and won’t know the difference; 3) I’m tired; and 4) I am a horrible mother.  So, I didn’t have this looming deadline to finish her dress so … I just didn’t.  This dress is basically done, I just have to do the finishing, but the finishing requires some new techniques and therefore concentration and therefore more than 30 minutes of sleep a night so I just haven’t gotten around to it.

I shot these with my iPhone, they looked crappy so I put them though Instagram - presto - hipster knitting at its finest.

I shot these with my iPhone, they looked crappy so I put them though Instagram – presto – hipster knitting at its finest.

Next up … Aiman’s sweater.  This is a winter sweater and its summer so there is no urgency.  Plus, I just couldn’t do another row of stockinette.  I COULD NOT!

Aiman's sweater + Sofia's feet.

Aiman’s sweater + Sofia’s feet.

Finally, I just started a blanket for my co-worker’s baby that is due in August.  This is a VERY fast knit and so satisfying since you can see the cool chevron pattern emerge almost immediately.  I can basically get through one color a night and there are seven colors planned so I should be able to finish this by the end of the week.  I (currently) love this blanket so (maybe) I will finish it?

Chevrons!

Chevrons!

So there you have it.  I’m a beginning knitter who can’t finish a project.  There must be a name for people like us.

Connecting up with Small Things Yarn Along.

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chronicles of Unfinished Projects

  1. Britney says:

    you are very talented!

  2. Angela says:

    Beautiful projects! Love the new chevron blanket!

  3. Angela says:

    I was wondering what pattern you are using for the baby blanket.

  4. Kristina says:

    @ Angela, the blanket is here http://www.purlbee.com/the-purl-bee/2011/9/15/whits-knits-chevron-baby-blanket.html or on Ravelry here http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chevron-baby-blanket I’m not using the doubled yarn like the pattern calls for, I just chose a nice chunky superwash merino blend, that way I can get two blankets out of 7 skeins. It is really a nice knit. So quick, easy and impactful!

  5. You go Kristina! Just put those projects on your UFO list (unfinished objects) and you will get around to them! I am working on a lot of UFO quilting projects. Plus I’m making a “fun n done” quilt for Mariah’s baby which is to arrive in late July or August. Just finished a wall hanging that I started in 2004 and another one that I started in 2001 or 2002. It’s easy to get side tracked. I like Sofia’s dress and am sure Aiman’s sweater will be neat too. Love you, Aunt Elaine

    • Kristina says:

      Thanks Aunt Elaine! I’m hoping to get that dress done over the weekend, but I said that last weekend too! By the way, Sofia still sleeps with the blanket you made for her when she was born. She absolutely loves it! 🙂

  6. MotherOwl says:

    You are – like me – suffering from starteritis. This disease makes the beginning of any new thing, especially knitting or like projects, seem very attractive, the finishing of said project not so much. It is closely related to “second sock syndrome”. No known cures are available as yet, but several doctors have started doing research in this field. 😉

    PS. Your project all look so nice. I’m sure you will beat your starteritis eventually and finish them.

  7. Lori says:

    Hee hee, so funny, I like your photos and your knits. 🙂

  8. sifinalaska says:

    For the record, I love that dress and totally think you need to finish it!

  9. I suffer from second sock syndrome which is really quite similar. The only cure I have found is to just not bother with socks anymore! haha! The other thing I am always putting off is the very last finishing touches – whether seaming or blocking a project! Once I do it, I feel so accomplished I wonder why I put it off so long… but here I am with three projects right next to me begging to be blocked… I think your dress is beautiful and the blanket too!!

  10. Pingback: Blergh | From Alaska to Australia

  11. Pingback: The Good, The Bad and The OK | From Alaska to Australia

Leave a Reply

