An Update – 10 Months in the Making

Can we all just ignore the fact that I haven’t updated the blog in nearly a year?  We can?  Excellent.  Moving along.

An Aiman Update:  Aiman started preschool a few weeks ago.  The first 10 minutes of the first day were (apparently) very teary, but he pulled himself together, made friends using the time-honored tradition of Spider-Man coloring books and stuffed monkeys and had a great day.  He informed me that first day that school was fine, but that he did not feel he needed to go back because he “already did that.”  Clever boy.   I took him back though because I am a horrible heartless monster.  On the way there he asked me to stay at school with him because he didn’t want to cry (he kills me), but once we got there, he did just fine, he had a bit of fear in his eyes, but he did not cry, gave me a sweet hug and kiss and said with authority “Bye, Mom.”  He likes school now, his teachers inform us that he is good at writing (witness my heart swell with pride!) and that he enjoys protecting the little girls when the other little boys pretend to be mosters (witness my abject fear of having a teenage Aiman running around saving damsels in distress with those eyelashes and those lips!)

IMG_0496

A Sofia Update:  I have created a master manipulator.  Seriously.  Picture bedtime at the Fredericks house, I put Sofia and Aiman down around 7:30, lots of reading, hugs, kisses, singing, tucking in … the usual.  I’ll leave the room and sit down on the couch with my knitting project (yes, I’m serious.  STOP JUDGING ME!)  About 5 minutes in I’ll hear this …. “MOOOOMMMYYYYY … I want to hug you!”  Not, I want a drink, which I can easily ignore.  Or, turn the lights on, which, I mean seriously, toughen up monkey.  No … “I want to hug you” is what I get.  How can I say no to that?  How can I go about knitting with abandon?  I can not I tell you!  She always gets me back in there at least once.  She knows I can’t say no.  I’m weak.  I admit it.

IMG_0462

(Who me?  I’m just hanging out here in this tub.  Don’t worry about it)

A Family Update:  Well people, there is no going back now.  Baby Number 3 will be making his/her appearance sometime at the end of August/beginning of September.  To answer all the usual questions:  1) we’re waiting to find out the sex; 2) we have picked out names; 3) he/she was planned (and also, stop asking me that question weirdos!  It’s not nice for the new totally planned and not at all accidental baby!); 4) I AM having cravings, thank you for asking.  I want things that have been pickled (I’m weird) and also Chex Mix and nachos and eggs and also I could do with a corn dog.  I DO NOT want chicken or fish or anything else that has not been pickled, and is not Chex Mix, nachos, eggs and corn dogs.  Food aversions are strong with this pregnancy; 5) I feel terrible, but not as terrible as I did 3 weeks ago so … progress?

This entry was posted in Aiman, Pregnancy is ... hard, Sofia. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Update – 10 Months in the Making

  1. Shireen says:

    Good to here you guys are doing well and that Sofia takes after her Aunty Naz…. jokes

    and that Aiman is a typical boy.

  2. Britney says:

    it’s about time! ; )

  3. CC says:

    I see hair! 🙂 Second picture I’ve seen that Sofia’s hair is visable. I did the same thing to your mom so only fair to share the joy with you. Good to know you are all doing well and to see a blog post. Much harder to keep up with when you have two kids keeping you busy and that work thing. People should understand though I do hope you have taken as many photos of Sofia as you did Aiman even if they aren’t posted as one day she will notice if you haven’t. .

  4. S.I.F. says:

    Holy crap! You weren’t kidding about those eyelashes and lips! And seriously, I wouldn’t be able to say “no” to “I want to hug you” either!

    And finally… EEEEEEK! SO excitin! Congratulations lady!

Leave a Reply

