We Miss You Costa Rica!

Things around here have been not so much busy … just overwhelming.  It’s overwhelming in the way that having two kids, a job, a small business and an endless list of tasks to complete that never seem as much fun as watching the new Twilight movie (Twilight movie won this weekend) just keeps you running around in circles most days.

That’s not to say that we haven’t basically settled in after our nearly-year in paradise, because we have, but the daily drudgery is definitely making us miss Costa Rica terribly and we are dreaming of our next vacation (which will unfortunately probably be a two week rather than nine month holiday).   Most of our dreaming/planning revolves around me playing the lottery every Friday – I’m nothing if not totally practical – but I think we will make it back there someday for a visit to Sofia’s motherland.

I have been trying to get all of our Costa Rica pictures loaded into some kind of web-based site where I can manipulate them and make some picture books, but there are over 4,000 pictures and my rinky-dink internet connection can’t seem to handle it.  Sometime in the next 10 years or so I will have more posts about Costa Rica and an album/scrapbook and maybe possibly a montage-video for the blog since I know how much you all love those!  In any case I really want to do some more posts about Costa Rica even though they are about things that happened nearly a year ago.  I have SO MANY stories y’all, and I am starting to get worried that the longer I wait to get them on paper the more likely they will slip out of my sieve-for-a-brain.

There’s that one about the frog that lived under our refrigerator that I used to get really close to so that I could take pictures and that we later learned was super poisonous and I could have DIED.

Also that one about the funny little lizard that used to come up on our porch every afternoon and sun itself and that Aiman wanted to “play” with one day, and before I could stop him Aiman had loved him and squeezed him and called him George and the little critter actually did die – but at least I have about 40 pictures of him so he will live on in our hearts and minds.

Also the time that Riaz dug a huge pit in our back yard and built a bon fire of epic size.  There are a lot of shirtless pictures, with sweat and shovels and wheelbarrows …. You guys, my husband is pretty sexy (Happy Valentine’s Day honey!)

And about those times the ocean came alive with a million little sardines and we could just sit and watch the water boil, the birds dive bomb and the fishermen pulling snapper out of the water like they were pulling up weeds.

And about the Canadian, who knew everything and who we miss.

Sigh.

Alright guys, gotta jet, the lotto calls.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

