Silent Treatment

Sorry for the recent blog silence.  I’m trying to soak in as much of Costa Rica as I can in the next few days, while also caring for a newborn and showering 14 times a day to try to keep the insane humidity at bay.

True story … I have a small suitcase of warm-weather gear that we brought with us for our stay in Colorado.  I opened up the suitcase today and every article of clothing was covered in mold.  Awesome.

Anyway … we are leaving Montezuma in just 10 days, we’ll be in San Jose for 3 more to deal with some immigration and passport issues and then we are on a plane to Los Angeles.  It doesn’t feel real.  I swear we JUST got here.  It can’t have been 8 months already.  I feel this really weird mix of excitement to get back and see everyone, dread at the thought of trying to find a job — and possibly being unsuccessful and therefore HOMELESS, and total crushing sadness to be leaving this amazing place and the friends we have made here.  This has been such an amazing experience.

This post isn’t meant to be all heavy though.  This post is meant to make you all say … holy crap, Kristina is freakin’ awesome!

That’s right.  Totally freakin’ awesome!

In my quest to enjoy the last few days of Costa Rica, I finally went surfing.  When we got here I was pregnant and surprise of surprises I continued to get pregnanter and pregnanter and surfing was really not in the cards.  So … for the last 8 months I have been sitting on a beach watching Riaz fall in love with surfing and wishing I could get in the water too!

I finally did yesterday … and on my third wave, I did this!

I fell off of about 10 more after catching that one, but whatever!  I got up!  I rode the wave into shore!  I kicked the ocean right in the ass!  I am woman, hear me roar!

This entry was posted in Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silent Treatment

  1. SHIREEN says:

    YOU ARE FREAKING AWESOME!!!!! Love your work, keep it up.

  2. Naz says:

    You go girl…whats taken Riaz 8 months has taken you 1 day!!
    Mummy was sitting on the beach and learning some skills…well done!

  3. Mom says:

    You are a BEAST, Kristina! That’s absolutely awesome.

  4. Nicki says:

    Awesome doesn’t even begin to cover it!! I can’t believe Monezuma living is nearly over… where has time gone? Seeing Kate tonight, so I guess some LA trip planning could be on the cards 😉

Leave a Reply

