He’s a Really Fun Guy

You all heard the one about the mushroom that walked into the bar … he’s a really fun guy!  Get it … fun-gi!  Oh man – 5 year old humor cracks me up.

But there are limits to even my humor.

I’m about to confess something to the interwebs.  Something … embarrassing.

Every single person in my immediate family (excepting Sofia (thank goodness!) and including myself) currently has some form of skin fungus or another.

Go ahead … you can say … eeeewwwwwwww!

I know!

Here’s the deal — Everything I have read says that to avoid skin fungi you must keep yourself clean and dry.  Sounds simple enough right?  I thought so too!  I am generally a pretty clean dry person.  Some might say I am too clean and too dry.  I am good with hygiene y’all.

But, you know what, I live in the JUNGLE.  It is 100 degrees with 100% humidity.  I take 3 showers a day and I still have a film of dirt and sweat on my body 80% of the day.  I don’t know what else to do.  Clearly nothing, because I currently have a FUNGUS!  That is SPREADING.  Because the DRUGS I should take to kill it can’t be taken if you are breastfeeding, so I am stuck with the lame OVER THE COUNTER crapola that does NOTHING for my FUNGUS!

Riaz and Aiman, who have also been infected with fungi (though different ones that mine), are on the mend (because they can take the real drugs), but it doesn’t change how gross it all is.

So there you have it — two posts in a row about things that suck about living in Costa Rica.  Tomorrow will make post number 3 because there apparently is a SKUNK living in our walls that is currently MARKING HER TERRITORY!  Sweet baby jebus, I’m not sure we will ever get rid of that smell.  Three more weeks to go … lets hope I can hang on for that long, I don’t want to be forced to write a post entirely in CAPS!

This entry was posted in Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He’s a Really Fun Guy

  1. Mom says:

    I think I see Aiman’s hair growing back. 🙂

  2. Naz says:

    Great pic..I love it!

Leave a Reply

