Blargh!

I know I have already complained about the pregnancy this week, but I have to do it again.  Please indulge me.

I have had a LOT of Braxton Hicks contractions with this pregnancy.  Way more than I did with Aiman and they are stronger and last longer and generally make me feel super uncomfortable for big parts of my day.  I am doing what the books say and drinking lots of water and lying down and resting for a few minutes when they come – but I think because it is so hot out here and I’m just on my feet a lot, I’m more dehydrated and its harder to keep the Braxton Hicks away.

The small “c” Braxton Hicks contractions are a bit of a nuisance, but not that big of a deal, I know they are totally normal.  What I don’t want to be feeling right now are big “C” CONTRACTIONS!  Like OMG!  That was a CONTRACTION!  I’m having a baby!

Well … this morning, I had some contractions that felt like OMG CONTRACTIONS!  They hurt.  Like stop talking, deep breathe, hold my stomach, OMG CONTRACTION contractions.  I drank a bunch of water lied down for a bit and they totally went away.  For all I know they were just particularly strong Braxton Hicks contractions, but it was not great just the same.

None of this is helping my (at this point) nearly debilitating anxiety about going into labor before getting to San Jose where we are, ya know, a little closer to a proper hospital.  I know that if I were to go into labor before getting to San Jose, everything will be fine – women have babies out here all the time and apparently the clinic in Paquera (which is about 45 minutes away) is pretty nice.  But all the same, its not a hospital hospital and I’m stressin’ y’all.

I know what you are all thinking – serves her right for choosing to move out to the jungle while pregnant!  And, of course, you are all right.  I should have known I would feel this way at the end of the pregnancy, but I was silly and naive!  I forgot what it was like to be 400 months pregnant.  It’s scary!

Ugh – whatever.  Everything is fine now.  I haven’t had any OMG CONTRACTIONS since this morning, I generally feel ok and I put the Paquera clinic on speed dial (not that it will do us much good since my Spanish is basically limited to “hello” and “how much”), but … yeah … BLARGH … pregnancy is hard.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy is ... hard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

