Guilty Pleasures

This is a post completely unrelated to Costa Rica, my family or my pregnancy.  I know!  I’m not sure its ever happened before.

This is a post dedicated to one of my strangest guilty pleasures.

I haven’t really thought about this particular guilty pleasure for awhile since we were without our computer for so long, but now that it is back, I have found myself … indulging.  A lot.

Here is a little something about me.  I am not all that fashionable.  I go through phases where I think that I am going to make an effort to get up early in the morning and do my hair everyday and put on make-up and think about my outfits, but that usually only last two or three days and then I am back to my pony-tail, smear of blush and (when I am lawyering) uniform of black pencil skirt and some kind of sweater.  It has gotten even worse in the jungle.  My wardrobe consists of the following:  2 pairs of linen maternity shorts, 2 identical beach coverups that are huge and that I wear constantly around the house, 2 tank-tops and about 3 t-shirts.  I never (NEVER!) wear anything else.

Given my complete lack of interest in how I present myself to the world, please answer me this interwebs … why am I addicted to fashion and style blogs?  Like seriously addicted.  Like I check them 3 or 4 times a day just to see whether there is some new outfit for me to ogle.  It’s a really weird phenomenon.

These are my go-to blogs:

The Sartorialist

Garance Dore

The Glamorai

Sea of Shoes

The Style Rookie

The worst thing is that the last two blogs are written by girls in high school (HIGH SCHOOL!) and I check in on their random high school musings EVERY DAY!  Actually the really worst thing is that I will sometimes go weeks without reading a news story (I honestly have no idea what is going on in Libya, but it seems … bad … is that right … someone clue me in here), but I can’t go 5 hours without checking at least one of this blogs.  I need help.

This entry was posted in Random Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

