Eat, Pray, Love

For the last few weeks I’ve been thinking that I need to update my “About” page, because this:

Keeping you updated on an Alaskan, an Australian and their newest addition – all living near the beach in California.

is really not all that descriptive anymore.  Actually, it was never all that descriptive, but that goes to my laziness which is not something I want to discuss right now.

I started trying to come up with what me, my family and this blog are “about.”  This led to some Deep Thoughts (by Jack Handy) (side note:  I miss the days when Saturday Night Live was funny.  That is all) about how to explain to people why the heck two people with good jobs, lives and friends in Santa Monica would up and move to a tiny village in Costa Rica.

I usually try not to think Deep Thoughts all that often because it usually leads to several nights of entrenched insomnia, in which I lie awake asking myself who I am? Why I am here? What will become of my family? Why did I overcook the chicken last night?  You know … life’s eternal questions.

Since we’ve been down here I have had many sleepless night asking myself what I am doing down here … unemployed … without income … with NO MONEY coming in.  No lie people – as happy as I am with the decision to come down here, it can be stressful.  Living the dream is not all fun and games.

At least a half dozen people have commented that our trip down here is like the book Eat, Pray, Love.  I never read the book, so I really can’t comment, but from what I gather the woman (after getting a hefty book advance – I’m open to that by the way – publishers?  publishers?  hellllloooooo?)  “chucked” it all in and went to go find herself by eating, praying and loving.  Someone who has actually read the book is welcome to correct me.

I guess I can understand why someone might think that our trip is like that book, we did chuck it all in and we are doing something a bit outside of the norm (though when you come down here you realize that there are A LOT of people who have done exactly what Riaz and I are doing) but really, my reasons for coming here have nothing to do with finding myself and everything to do with finding my family.

Pretty much everyone I know works their entire lives, saving up for retirement.  Then they retire and are (often) too old or tired or broke to really go out and enjoy their retirement.  At that point their kids (if they have them) are out of the house, living their own lives and are certainly not going to go on extended breaks with their parents.

Don’t get me wrong, I realize that is not everyone’s experience and there is absolutely nothing wrong with living life that way.  In fact, I sometimes think we are crazy for spending our savings to come down here.  But, for me, I just wanted more time with these guys:

And more time to do this:

I just wasn’t getting that in the hustle and bustle of living in Los Angeles and working in a demanding career.

I know lots of women who do the working mom thing with ease and someday I know I will do it too (staying at home all day just isn’t in my make-up), but for right now, at this moment in Aiman’s life and for the first 6 months or so of Baby No. 2’s life, its nice to be able to spend so much time just being here for them (of course I have no choice but to be here for Baby No. 2 – he/she is sort of attached ya know.)

Plus, and this is totally selfish and has nothing to do with my family, it is so cool to be able to have a little adventure after really doing the expected thing most of my life.  Marrying Riaz, who spent a big chunk of his life traveling around and having exciting rugby adventures, made me realize that I want that too.  I don’t want to just live in one place for the rest of my life without first getting out and seeing what it is like to live somewhere else.  Don’t get me wrong, Costa Rica is not all that exotic, but maybe it is just getting me prepped for an India … or maybe Turkey.  I’m dying to go to Turkey!

So … the long and the short of it is this.  The opportunity to come down here presented itself.  We were lucky enough that I have (had) the kind of job that allowed me to save for a relatively short period of time and accumulate enough money to stay down here for at least awhile, and so we did it.

So we could have an adventure – together as a family.

Are we spending our savings to be down here?  Yup.  Will I probably end up having to cash out my 401K before this is over?  Most likely.  Do I stress about money and finding a job when we get back to the states?  Um … yeah!

But despite all those worries, I know we made the right choice.  I’m here.  I spend time with Aiman and Riaz every single day.  Aiman calls for me in the morning and when he gets home from walks with his dad.  He gives me hugs and kisses and snuggles up to me on the couch (something he never did before).  And I can tell he is happy.  And so am I.

All of this doesn’t really help me in my quest to update my about page.  This post seems a little too wordy.  I guess I will probably land on something like:

Keeping you updated on an Alaskan, an Australian, an Aiman and a fetus all living near the beach in Costa Rica.

Eh – good enough.

This entry was posted in Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eat, Pray, Love

  1. Mom says:

    Not to quibble, but “LEAVING near the beach”? You might want to fix that. And I appreciate your philosophic wanderings here. I think you’ve made a good choice, and I’m sure everything will work out when/if you return to the states.

  2. Kristina says:

    Wooops! See – this is what this laid back lifestyle does to me. Typos galore! Fixing now. 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    You are a fabulous mummy and I totally respect and admire your decision to map your own life. Here’s something you might like to read http://www.oprah.com/spirit/Elizabeth-Gilbert-on-Failure-and-Living-Well xxx

Leave a Reply

