Pregnancy Watch – Week 18

Let’s start with last week.  I found this picture in the camera the other day when I was uploading last week’s shots.

How pathetic.  I remember this.  I had been struggling with the worst headache for about 2 days at that point.  I finally decided I should just get out of the house and go for a walk, thinking a little activity might do me good.  It was the right thing to do, but man alive was I miserable.  Witness above picture.  I do not look good.

But … this week, I feel MUCH better.  I haven’t had a single headache and I feel like my energy is returning.  I actually don’t think my low energy levels have anything to do with my pregnancy and everything to do with the fact that this house has literally the worst pillows in creation and its impossible to sleep without getting horrible knots in your neck and waking up in the middle of the night in excruciating pain (in fact – that may be where my headaches have been coming from too).  We’ve sort of figured out a pillow system that will allow us to get a few uninterrupted hours, but it is really an untenable situation.  I’m not an animal!  I need proper pillows!

Riaz and I are taking a road trip to Arenal and Monteverde starting on Friday.  We are swinging through San Jose on the way back to see my doctor AND to go buy some pillows.  I am really excited to check out other parts of Costa Rica, but truth be told, I’m mainly excited about the pillows – this is what my life has come to.

Pregnancy wise, all is quiet on the Western front.  The little monkey has been moving around a lot more and this morning Riaz got to feel him/her kicking away for the first time.  He/she is most active in the mornings, which is how Aiman was too.  This one’s kicks are a little stronger – Riaz wasn’t able to feel Aiman move until about Week 20 and I don’t remember feeling baby movement at all until about Week 18 or 19.  I shutter at the thought of having a baby who is more active than Aiman, I literally did not think that was possible.

Overall this week was good.  I feel pretty normal, besides the ever growing bump and random movements, I sometimes forget I’m even pregnant.  Which, in my mind, is a very good thing!

This entry was posted in Pregnancy is ... hard. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pregnancy Watch – Week 18

  1. Mom says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, Kristina. I was concerned for you.

Leave a Reply

