Montezuma or Bust …. BUST!

Yesterday, Riaz went down to Bin’s (local fish monger) and brought home a whole snapper for Thanksgiving dinner.  We have had the whole snapper before, its delish.  I just clean it up, rub it in olive oil, sprinkle it with some salt and pepper (inside and out) and throw a couple of lemon wedges inside its little body.  We wrap it in tin foil and put it on the bar-b-que to slow roast for about an hour.  When it is done the fish literally falls apart and tastes amazing.

I was all for the whole snapper.  Unfortunately, I have been struggling with some seriously awful pregnancy induced headaches (more on that tomorrow in my weekly being-pregnant-is-hard post), and by the time the afternoon rolled around, I just wasn’t feeling it.  Getting the snapper ready is actually a little bit of work.  Scaling that sucker is not easy and last time I did it I forgot to remove its top fin thing, jabbed myself in the finger with it and proceeded to bleed all over everything.  Obviously, I won’t make that mistake again, but it still takes some work and intestinal fortitude – neither of which I had last night.

Rather than cook, I suggested we have our very first night on the town and go into Montezuma for dinner.

I checked the bus schedule and saw that one was coming at 4:30 and we got ready to go.  The bus comes right by our house so we went down to the main road and waited.  And waited.  And waited.  By 5, I was annoyed and at that point learned from the local surf instructor (who brings his instructees to the surf break outside our house most evenings) that the bus actually comes at 3:30, not 4:30.  Great.

By that time it was too late to get the BBQ going and the snapper on so we went back to the house and I ate … wait for it … eggs … for Thanksgiving dinner.  Now I really miss mom’s homecooking!

We’re going to try again tonight for Montezuma.  I’ve heard good things about a few different restaurants in town and we haven’t eaten out since we’ve been here so I think we are due.  Besides … Aiman is totally ready to get out of the house for a night.

This entry was posted in Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

