Sick

Aiman got sick last night.  Like SICK.  We’re talking 102 degree fever, vomiting all over himself, crying, whimpering, miserable sick.  It sucked and I don’t think I’ve ever been so worried in my life.

Kids get sick.  If this had happened in the states, I probably would have cleaned him off, brought him into bed with me and fallen back to sleep, waiting to see if he would be better in the morning.  Not really a big thing – I mean, kids just get sick sometimes.

I basically did the same thing last night, except I also opened up the computer and consulted Dr. Google on every possible jungle sickness I could think of and then lied awake checking his temperature all night waiting for it to break.

It did, and Aiman is basically fine now, he’s still get a very low grade fever, but he is running around like usual and doesn’t seem any worse for wear.  We’ll keep a close eye on him, but I think he probably just ate something that didn’t agree with him.

The point of the story is that I do like living out here, but there are downsides too.  In the states, Aiman’s little episode would not even have had me thinking about calling a pediatrician because we were just so close to every kind of medical help you could get. Here, I worry more.  There is still help nearby if we need it, but I was up half the night calculating the time it would take to call Tito, get him over here to pick us up and then drive us to Cobano for help.  It was really nerve-wracking.  And kind of upsetting.

So there you have it.  Life is not perfect in the jungle!  There are always things to be stressed out about!

This entry was posted in Aiman, Costa Rica. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

