Hot

Aiman is a dare devil.  He loves to jump off of things, run fast, scale stairs and he is constantly fiddling with the stove.  The stove thing totally freaks me out, I am now having recurring nightmares involving hot liquids.  In an attempt to keep that kid away from the stove, whenever he gets near it Riaz and I always say, “Hot … Hot!” in our most stern voices.  Sometimes we’ll pick him up and hover his hand over the stovetop so he can sort of feel the heat and say “HOT!”  We’re hopeful he will learn that the stove is hot and he should stay away.  It hasn’t worked so far, but we are parents and we can dare to dream of a better future for our children.  This is all important backstory for the following:

Aiman has been babbling for awhile.  Every once in awhile he throws in a mama or a dada and lately a “dog.”  But he hasn’t really said any words that correspond to the actual thing.  Like, sometimes I’ll hear him squealing “mama” to a soccer ball (granted, because of the whole career woman thing, he spends more time with the soccer ball than with me but I’m trying not to wallow in my own mom’s guilt so I’ll let it go for now).  Anyway, tonight Aiman was in the kitchen with me while I was making his dinner, he put his hand up to the stove and said …. “Hot” …. it was clear as day.  I screamed my excitement and he said it again.  “Hot!”  Then I picked him up and he hovered his little hand over the stovetop and said (you guessed it) “Hot!”

He said it a few more times until he noticed the tears streaming down my face, then he just looked at me funny and wiggled out of my arms (at only a year he already thinks his mom is a total weirdo – which, if I were being honest, I probably am).  I wasn’t able to catch the first real and true word on video, but I will do my best to share it as soon as I can.  It was the cutest thing ever.

Topic change:  I am challenging myself to blog every day for the month of June.  I am probably going to end up with a bunch of posts about things that happened months ago, but I need to get back in the blogging habit gosh darnit, so I am going on a blogging spree.  Check back on Tuesday!

P.S.  For Aunt Naz … some new pictures.

Curious Aiman …


Super Cute Aiman …

Angry Aiman …

This entry was posted in Aiman. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot

  1. Blue_in_AK says:

    Kristina, you can do the blog a day, I know you can. It’s kind of like my photo a day. Some days I can’t think of a thing to take a picture of, but I make myself do it anyway. It’s good discipline. 🙂

    Aiman is so cute.

  2. Naz says:

    thanks Christina for the photos…i hope i have inspired your 1 month of daily blogging due to the persistant need to see more of Aiman!!

Leave a Reply

