Perfection …

A good friend of mine and his partner recently adopted an adorable little boy.  He’s only a few days younger than Aiman so my friend and I have been commiserating about the struggles difficulties stresses joys of parenting.  After checking out this blog, I got the following email from him:

He looks SO peaceful!  don’t you have any of him crying or screaming or spitting up!?!?  C’mon … give us something to know everything isn’t so perfect at your house, eh?!?!

Oh man … this gave me a good laugh.  Since writing this post about what a joy my little man is and how he sleeps a ton, my boy has taken to waking up every 1.5 hours at night to eat, because it is literally impossible to get him to do more than snack a bit during  his nighttime feedings.  In addition, my darling son has decided that 6:00 a.m. is the time that he wants to be awake … he usually goes back to sleep at about 9:00 a.m., but by that time the damage is done and its time for me to start my day.  I usually try to get in an afternoon nap when he is taking his, but really I am getting about four hours of sleep a day and I am TIRED!  But of course, it is totally perfect over here!  The best part of the whole day though is when Aiman screams from about 9:00 p.m. to about 11:00 p.m.  Why … I don’t know.  He doesn’t want to eat, doesn’t care if he’s swaddled, doesn’t seem to be calmed by the shushing that usually gets him to quiet down.  No … the only thing he wants is for me to be holding him perched on my left arm swinging/bouncing/rocking him up and down and side to side for hours (and hours and hours) and just when I think he is asleep, and I lie him down, he wakes back up and wants another hour or so of the swinging/bouncing/rocking.  My left arm looks like it belongs to a professional wrestler on many steroids.  

The reason there are no pictures of these activities is because I am usually too busy trying to get the little guy to stop crying to take any snapshots.  But … in the interests of portraying a fair and accurate picture of life in my house, I made a mission of trying to capture Aiman at his screaming best tonight.  I am probably not going to win any mom of the year awards for this, but I let the little guy wail for a few minutes this evening while I giggled uncontrollably and snapped these awesome pictures of the real Aiman!

Enjoy …

 

IMG_7981

 

IMG_7982

  IMG_7983

 

IMG_7984

 

IMG_7985

Perfect!

This entry was posted in Aiman. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfection …

  1. Antje says:

    Hey Kristina!

    I love your blog. It makes me laughing soooo much. I couldnt describe it better! Maybe you can make a book out of it later! I just want to tell you that I can still remember everything you are talking about! Leighton is now nearly nine months and he sleeps 12 hours through the night (also during teething episodes and colds), doesnt cry lots anymore during the day and goes to sleep easily! It will get easier! It comes the day evrything is so easy that you think oh I can have another one now – forgetting how hard the first few months actually were!
    Well all the best and keep writing – its hilarious!

    Antje

  2. Pingback: No Sleep Til Brooklyn « From Alaska to Australia

Leave a Reply

