Cloth Diapers …

We cloth diaper Aiman.  There, I’ve said it.  Whenever I tell people that we cloth diaper they look at me as though I’ve told them that I dance naked under a full moon smearing my baby’s poo all over my body.  (Ed. Note:  I don’t do that.)  In point of fact, I very rarely actually touch any poo (at least no more than I would with disposable diapers – which is actually more poo than I would like to touch – but I guess that goes with the job).  

To be honest, the cloth diapering thing was Riaz’s idea – I would have happily filled my quota in the L.A. County landfill with disposable diapers, but Riaz assured me that cloth diapering was better and that he would do all the work.  I now agree that it is probably better.  I, however, have yet to see Riaz do a load of cloth diapers (in fact, just today – when Riaz demonstrated that he clearly had no idea how to work the washing machine – I realized that Riaz does not actually know how to do laundry).

The way we cloth diaper is very hip and trendy, we don’t deal with those crazy prefold diapers with the sharp pointy pins.  Instead, we use fitted diapers with little snaps, there is elastic around the legs so nothing gets out and they actually are a pretty tight fit.  Plus, they are really super cute on, his little butt is just so fuzzy!  How can you go wrong with a little fuzzy butt!?!  (Ed. Note: My son is going to love reading about how I thought his butt was all cute and fuzzy when he is 16 years old.  I really think one of the main reasons to have children is so you can embarrass them when they are older … and so they can do menial labor.)  We use doublers in the diapers (extra pieces of fabric to catch the pee) and little cloth liner things that you can just toss into the toilet and flush.  Then we have these really cute polyurethane pants that go over the cloth diapers to keep everything from getting wet.  

Now that I write it all out, it seems like a lot of work, but trust me, its really only two extra steps.  We do still use disposable on some nights because Aiman hates to have his diaper changed and putting on a cloth diaper does take a smidge longer than putting on a disposable and listening to my son scream as if I am ripping off his toenails at 3:00 in the morning is not my idea of a good time.

Here is our “stash” of cloth diapers.  Aren’t they cute!

IMG_7942

For anyone reading this who cares, we have three kinds of cloth diapers – Crickett’s Diapers, Happy Heiny’s and Loveybums.  The Crickett’s and Loveybums came with their own doublers and we also have a few Hemp Babies doublers.  We use Thirsties covers and Kushies liners.  We love the Crickett’s Diapers – though when I first got them I thought they looked huge and did not think they would fit our baby.  Once you get them on though they fit great and are super absorbent.  I just bought a bunch more of those.  The other great thing about Crickett’s is that they are fully adjustable, so they will fit the little guy for a long time.  I don’t love the Happy Heiny’s and the Loveybums, they are just not that absorbent.  The Thirsties covers are great, and I could not do the cloth diapering thing without the Kushies liners.  It really makes clean up a cinch and keeps the smell of baby poo from taking over the entire house – which is a major plus in my book.  

I do laundry about every other day.  I do a 30 minute cold water soak with detergent and baking soda, then I do an actual wash cycle and add a bit of distilled white vinegar in the rinse cycle to help with the smell (though I think I could do without this step because the diapers come out smelling fine even without the vinegar).  I am going to look into buying a Downey ball so I don’t have to pay attention to when the rinse cycle starts – I really don’t have that kind of attention span and I end up forgetting to do it 90% of the time anyway.  I know laundry every other day sounds like a lot, but when you have a baby that pees and spits up all over everything anyway, it really does not make that much of a difference.  

Now the question on everyone’s mind – Why the hell are you doing this to yourself!?!  When I think of people who cloth diaper, I think of dirty hippies who live in trees and protest the use of chemicals on cut flowers.  I am so not that person.  I do most of my shopping at Costco, I rarely buy organic, I like to buy new things that leave a BIG carbon footprint and I make Riaz buy me cut flowers which I know ruin the environment, just because I like the way they look in my house.  Off topic: Did you all see that hilarious South Park episode where Cartman rids the town of hippies using a gigantic drill.  It was awesome.

 150px-902cartmaninjail

So why do I do it?  A few reasons:  1) Riaz is making me.  Seriously – I tried to talk him out of it SO. MANY. TIMES.  But he was really persistent, and he is rarely persistent about anything, so I caved.  2)  It is cheaper.  My baby goes through A LOT of diapers everyday, those disposable diapers are crazy expensive.  3)  It is better for the environment.  Contrary to the way I live my life 99.9% of the time, I do actually care about the environment – I drive a Prius for crying out loud!  People tell me all the time that because we live in California, which is experiencing a draught, that I am actually doing more harm to the environment because of all the laundry I am doing.  That is just crazy talk.  I could understand the argument if the only damage to the environment caused by disposables was that I was filling a landfill, but that is just not the case.  It takes a ton of energy to actually produce, transport and sell disposable diapers, not to mention the enormous amount of human waste that ends up in landfills, which tends to seep out of the diapers and contaminate the ground water!  Which means the water that L.A. does actually have is filled with baby poo!  (O.K. – I’m just making that last part up, but I have heard that the raw sewage in disposable diapers is really harmful).  It’s just gross when you think about it (obviously no offense to anyone who uses disposable diapers – See point 1. above, namely that the primary reason we are cloth diapering is that I was forced into it!)

So there you have it.  We cloth diaper our baby!  You would too, if you saw how cute your baby looked in florescent orange diaper covers!

IMG_7946

And one with the feet … 

IMG_7947

This entry was posted in Aiman. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cloth Diapers …

  1. Melissa says:

    wow so environmentally conscious of you..I had no idea! 🙂 and that’s hilarious that Riaz can’t work a washing machine.

  2. Pingback: Keeping Up With the Smith-Jones’ « From Alaska to Australia

  3. Pingback: Dirty Hippies – Part Three – TV Guide « From Alaska to Australia

  4. Pingback: Oil Slick | From Alaska to Australia

Leave a Reply

