Over-Committed

Woo … I’ve got a lot of knitting to catch you up on.  I have started a million projects and finished two of them.  I need help.  Also, I’ve recently decided I need to take up quilting even though I don’t have: 1) a sewing machine; 2) the space; and 3) any sewing skills whatsoever.  Not that I’m going to let that stop me.  Stay tuned for further unnecessary crafting.

First up is the shawl/wrap I have been working on for my mother-in-law.  I REALLY wanted to finish this before we went to Australia.  And then I REALLY wanted to finish it before her birthday in January.  And then I just wanted to finish it before we came home.  Care to wager whether I actually did?

Chevrons!

Chevrons!

 

I presented the half-finished project to my mother-in-law as her “gift,” but it was rather anti-climactic.  I feel bad I didn’t finish it but, in my defense, Australia was not a big relaxing vacation.  We had plans with family/friends ALL THE TIME.  Plus, you know, we had three kids to take care of.   It was really hard to get anything done.

I'm a sucker for babies on knits

I’m a sucker for babies on knits

Ah well, I truly love this pattern and this yarn.  I think it is the first time I’ve done a good job picking the right yarn to go with the pattern I was knitting.  I’ve knit a little over 30 inches of the 60 inch wrap.  It takes me about an hour and a half to get through 1 repetition and 1 repetition equals maybe 1 -1 ½ inches so I’m looking at another 45 hours or so to get this done (geez that seems like a lot when I write it out!)

I also just finished a simple but cute baby blanket for my good friend at work who is expecting Baby No. 3 at the end of April.  The pattern I chose is very basic, but I needed it after the serious brain power required of the lacy wrap.  I tried to spice things up a bit with some striping cuteness and I really like how it turned out.  I presented the blanket to my co-worker yesterday and she seemed happy, so it was a win.

Stripes

Stripes

I’m also making this sweater for Aiman.  I ran out of the yarn I needed for the blanket and while it was on order, I started up something for the little guy.  He has been begging me for a hand knit for some time, so this seemed like a good opportunity to cast on.  When I told him the sweater was for him, he clapped his hands together, squealed and said “Yea!”  and then my heart grew three sizes and it was Roast Beast for everyone!  Gah I love that kid.

I also knit up a quick little hat for my hair dresser who had a baby around the same time Mika was born.  I love her.  We actually went to high school together and she is a sweetheart, and the babies of sweethearts get hats.  I was racing to get this thing done before my hair cut a few weeks back and forgot to take a picture, but take my word when I say it was cute and quick and easy (my three favorite things!)  I should also mention that my new hair is also cute and quick and easy.  I am a short hair convert!

That’s it for this week.  Joining up with the Yarn Along.

This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over-Committed

  1. Linda Scates says:

    How did I, without a crafty bone in my body, raise such a ridiculously talented daughter? Xxxooo.

  2. Britney says:

    you are amazingly talented.

Leave a Reply

