The View From Here

My life feels like it is on hold for the moment.  I mean, I have only watched the first episode of the final season of Breaking Bad for crying out loud.  What has become of me!?!

A 4.5 year old, a 2.5 year old and a 5 week old are, together, a lot of work, in case you were wondering.  And I even have it easy.  Like, really easy.  Riaz and I are both at home.  He takes Aiman and Sofia out for hours nearly everyday and yet every night I feel like I might collapse from exhaustion.  Hang on a sec, Mika is crying for no apparent reason ….

OK, I’m back …. with one hand.   This girl likes to be held.  Which leads me to today’s knitting post … this may shock some of you but it appears to be impossible to knit with one hand.  Clearly not much is getting done around these parts.

I am some kind of a fool and am working on a relatively complicated (for me) lace pattern.  This item WILL GET DONE before we leave for Australia at the end of November, but it is going to be a race.  I’ve been able to work on it some evenings, though  which evenings is a bit of a crap shoot since Mika is sometimes very sleepy after 7 and sometimes very fussy after 7.  I haven’t figured out yet what set of circumstances leads to which version of Mika I am going to get on any given night so I basically have no control (which is unsurprising with a newborn!)

Anyway … all of this is to say that 1) I am stupid for working on lace in my current situation; 2) please don’t spoil Breaking Bad in the comments — Long Live Heisenberg!;  3) I am so happy The Voice is back on and that Cee Lo has returned — I love him and his tiny hands beyond all sense and reason (this point is kind of a non-sequitor but it is important to be said I think); 4) I’m tired; and 5) my baby is cute.

Mika and Knitting

I love how babies always look like they are ready to box with someone … put up your dukes!

P.S.  This photo was obviously totally staged.  I could never work on knitting with a wide awake, not crying baby in my lap.  She was just sitting there, and my knitting was sitting next to me and I thought … MY BLOG!

Joining up with the Yarn Along … though it is all just a sham since I haven’t Yarned much of anything in the last five weeks!

This entry was posted in Mika, She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The View From Here

  1. She may have her fist clenched, but she doesn’t look like a fighter! Love getting your pictures. One of these days you will have more time since your Riaz helps so much. Love you guys. Aunt E and Uncle Marvin

  2. Shireen says:

    Is so looking forward to meeting the lil Fredericks babies, Loving the updates. xoxoxox

  3. HA! Your post was cracking me up and I kept thinking… “oh, how I relate!” I have a 5 month old (oh my gosh… I can’t believe I am writing 5 MONTHS- I almost wrote 5 weeks!), a just-2 year old, and an almost 4 year old and I don’t know how I even climb into bed at night instead of dropping on the floor to sleep.
    Somehow my knitting picked up when I had baby #3 BUT everything else went to h-e-l-l around here… I can’t keep up on the laundry, the dishes pile up exponentially more than with just two kids (and this baby doesn’t even contribute to that mess directly), the toilet usually has some nasty scum in the bowl… and I used to a GOOD housekeeper! I totally use knitting as a sanity-saver, something that is “just mine” – one of the few things I do in a day that I do just because I love it and not because anyone else needs me to do it. It sure is more fun than scrubbing toilets (although I guess I should do that a little more too). Hope you get to do more knitting soon!

  4. S.I.F. says:

    Lady, having a BABY is exhausting! I seriously never knew how exhausting until I had Josie. Those first 3 months were such a blur. I can’t even imagine doing it with two others running around as well! You are a rock star as far as I am concerned.

  5. Britney says:

    nearly laughed out loud at her face! ha ha ha. cutie patootie.

Leave a Reply

