Pregnancy Watch – Week 21

Our house does not have an oven.  We have a little toaster oven that is great for keeping things warm, making toast (obviously) and we can even bake fish fillets and chicken in it.  But, its not really any good for actual baking.  Just too small and the heat distribution is not right.

This was not really that much of an issue when we got here.  Sure, I miss baking some, I like to bake, a lot, but I can live without it.

My indifference to a lack of an oven changed this week when the mild craving for sweets I’ve had throughout this pregnancy took complete hold of me and has not let go.  I think about sweets all the time.  ALL. THE. TIME.  Today I ate a cinnamon roll, 8 marshmallows, 2 big pieces of chocolate and I’m probably going to eat 8-12 Oreos tonight.  I need help.

It’s not really a problem getting sweets here, but what I really want are some of the amazing cranberry scones I make at home and possibly also some homemade chocolate chip cookies, and I’ve made this concoction a few times, I haven’t quite gotten it right yet, but I know that when I do it will be ridiculous, I want to try again.  Basically, this baby is demanding an oven.

Clearly this is a minor complaint in the grand scheme, but I’m here to document this pregnancy and there you have it – I have a desperate craving for homemade sweets.

Everything else is good.  Lots of baby movement this week and I definitely have a noticeable bump (which may have something to do with the aforementioned inability to stop eating sweets), but overall, I’m feeling pretty ok, which is about all I can ask for at this stage.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy is ... hard. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pregnancy Watch – Week 21

  1. Mom says:

    Kristina, do you remember those little no-bake chocolate cookies with the oatmeal and peanut butter in them? If you need the recipe, I’ll send it. They’re yummy.

Leave a Reply

